*OUR OFFICE WILL BE OPEN WITH REDUCED HOURS BEGINNING MONDAY, MARCH 23, 2020 FROM 8:30 A.M. UNTIL 12:30 P.M. FOR THE SAFETY OF STAFF AND THE PUBLIC, WE WILL FOLLOW THE SAME PROCEDURES AS THE GOVERNMENT TOWER BUILDING AND THE GENERAL PUBLIC WILL NOT BE ALLOWED INSIDE OF THE COURTHOUSE BUILDING. OUR OFFICE WILL ACCEPT RECORDINGS AND EMERGENCY FILINGS ONLY.
We will work to accommodate your needs to the best of our ability under the circumstances and appreciate your patience and understanding.
Click here for the latest Operations of Louisiana Clerks of Court issued by the LA Clerks of Court Association.
OTHER IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENTS
We are no longer issuing birth certificates or marriage licenses except in emergencies. Please call 985-868-5660 if you have an emergency situation.
The 32nd Judicial District Courts are closed from 4:30 p.m. on March 20, 2020 and will remain closed until 8:00 a.m. on Monday, April 13, 2020. All jury trials are cancelled through April 10, 2020. All jurors who have been summoned to appear from March 20-April 10, 2020 are dismissed. Click here to see full Order.
We are no longer accepting appointments for passport applications effective March 18, 2020. Resumption of service is unknown at this time, but all information concerning passports will be posted to this site. You can go to www.travel.state.gov for more information.
Marriage License Department
THE MARRIAGE LICENSE DEPARTMENT ONLY ACCEPTS CASH FOR PAYMENT. WE DO NOT ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS IN THIS DEPARTMENT.
The Marriage License Department is now located at 310 Church St., directly across the street on the west side of the Old Courthouse building.
Supervisor: Dawn Hebert
The Marriage License/Birth Certificate Department is responsible for the issuance of Marriage Licenses and certified copies of Birth Certificates and issuance of birth cards.
Pursuant to applicable Louisiana Statutes, applicants for a Marriage License must meet the following requirements:
State certified copy of either a birth certificate or birth card for both parties. If either party was born out of the country, a translated notarized birth certificate along with a valid state ID card or driver’s license.
Proof of age-applicants must be 18 years old or older.
A minor sixteen or seventeen years of age may not enter into a matrimonial agreement without judicial authorization and the written concurrence of his father and mother, or of the parent having his legal custody, or of the tutor of his person.
A minor sixteen or seventeen years of age may not contract marriage with a person of the age of majority where there is an age difference of three years or greater between them.
No marriage license for a minor of the age of sixteen or seventeen shall be issued where there is an age difference of three years or greater between the persons seeking the marriage license.
Licenses must be purchased at least 24 hours in advance of the ceremony. (Effective 8-1-2018)
A Marriage License expires thirty (30) days from the date of issue if not used.*
Licenses obtained in Louisiana may only be used in Louisiana.
Fees: The cost is $40.00, plus $5 for any additional attachments (waiver, translation, etc.)-cash only. Checks are not accepted. No credit cards accepted.
A medical certificate is not required.
Original driver's license, passport, or government issued identification.
A TWIC card is NOT acceptable as a form of identification.
BEFORE YOU COME IN OR CALL, CLICK HERE FOR A LIST OF REQUIREMENTS FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE!
CLICK HERE TO PRINT OUT THE APPLICATION TO FILL OUT BEFORE YOU COME IN TO OUR OFFICE.
FOR MORE INFORMATION AND REQUIREMENTS REFER TO LA R. S. 9:225-228.
Note: All marriage licenses must be returned to the Clerk of Court’s Office within thirty (30) days of issuance.
*A marriage license expires and becomes invalid at midnight thirty (30) days after the date of issuance. If the service is postponed, you must turn in the old license and purchase a new one.
COVENANT MARRIAGE ACT
To apply for a marriage license under the Covenant Marriage Act, the couple must comply with all of the above requirements as stated above for a Marriage License. In addition, the couple must receive premarital counseling from clergy of any religious sect or from a professional marriage counselor, which counseling includes:
A discussion of the seriousness of Covenant Marriage.
The obligation of a Covenant Marriage to take reasonable efforts to preserve the marriage if marital difficulties arise.
That each party has read the pamphlet entitled “The Covenant Marriage Act” developed and promulgated by the Office of the Attorney General.
A Declaration of Intent must be signed by the clergy or counselor and brought to the Office of the Clerk of Court.
Welcome to the official website for the Terrebonne Parish Clerk of Court! Whether you visit our office through this website or in person, our purpose is to provide you with the friendly, considerate, and reliable service that you have come to expect and deserve from your Terrebonne Parish Clerk of Court's Office.